Bugger Off! 10 Things I Love About My Country #6: Language

It occurs to me that I should have reblogged this amazing work of mildly offensive words before I went on vacation. I think I also need use ‘rubbish’ more, and giggle immaturely whenever I stumble across “fanny pack”.

Suzie Speaks

We’re over half way through with the ‘United We Stand’ posts and Steve (a scot), Jenny (an American) and I (an English woman) have been compiling lists about the things we love about our countries.

This week’s focus is language. I toyed with the idea of focusing on the different aspects of the history of the english language, but have somehow gravitated towards slang and swear words. Warning: there may be uses of words that you may deem to be inappropriate within this list – if you are easily offended, read the post with your hands over your face whilst peeking out between your fingers.

image

1. Bugger. This is a word that I use on a regular basis to in any number of situations:

  • Bugger off – go away.
  • We’re buggered – all is lost.
  • It’s buggered – it is broken.
  • I’m buggered – I’m tired.
  • Lucky bugger – a…

View original post 544 more words

Leave a reply. No really, leave one. Leave lots.

