Where Suzie is Terribly Awesome

As if the top 10 lists weren’t fun enough, Suzie is hosting a great little community project that doesn’t involve me having to choose individual people to give awards to. Feel free to join along, but if you do, please link back to Suzie’s original post!

1. How did you create the title for your blog?
There’s a more detailed answered here, but the short of it is that I love books, and I love pie, and I love terrible puns.

2. What’s the one bit of blogging advice you would give to new bloggers?
Don’t compare yourself to other blogs and how much traffic or followers or whatever they’re getting. Write like you, and write because you like it, not because you want to generate the numbers. Then it seems more of a job than something you’re doing for fun.

3. What is the strangest experience you’ve ever had?
Hmmm, probably a couple weeks ago when I tried to have a reasonable discussion with a sexist man dressed up as a ‘gentleman’, only to be faced with a massive word count claiming to be logical while being completely devoid of perspective or logic. I gave up once the words “legitimately raped” were uttered.

edit: I took this to mean in the blogging world. If we’re talking about overall, probably the time I was kidnapped, robbed, molested, tied up, and left for dead by 4 Guatemalans in the jungle in Belize on the first full day of my honeymoon. I wanted to go to DisneyWorld.

4. What is the best thing that anybody has ever said to you?
2 months into blogging, I received a really sweet email from Dr. Mortimer Schnub saying that I had a very good blog, and that I turn a phrase like a modern day Ann Bates, whom I might have to look up because she might be before my time (Google has turned up nothing for me, even with varied spellings of the name). He said to keep on trucking, and that he looked forward to my next post. It came at a good time because I was starting to doubt the longevity of this blog. Granted, it’s only been 5 months now, but I think I’ve developed some non-pie legs!

edit: Again, I took this to mean in the blogging world. Overall, probably the day my daughter said, “You’re the best cooking mom EVER.”

5. When presented with a time machine, which one place and time would you visit?
Assuming I can only observe and not influence, lest I butterfly effect everything? Probably the end of the Cretaceous period, JUST before the extinction event. I want to know what happened!

6. If you had to pick a new first name, what would you choose?
I don’t think I would, honestly. I may have shared my name with a crapton of other girls born in the 70’s and 80’s (I distinctly remember 6 Jennifers in my 8th grade science class), but my first and last name formed such a significant part of my identity. Plus my legal first name is my Chinese name, which assholes in elementary and middle school made fun of. It taught me a valuable lesson about what kind of people to surround myself with and what kind of people to disassociate from. I’ve kept many of those faithful friends to this day and barely think about the awful people with their terrible ugly hair.

Now, if I were to have another girl baby, I’d probably name her Eleanor.

7. If you were a B Movie, what would it be called?
Pietanium 3000: Jenny, Queen of the Nerds

12 thoughts on “Where Suzie is Terribly Awesome

  1. Pingback: The WordPress Community Experiment: The Answers! | Suzie81 Speaks

Leave a reply. No really, leave one. Leave lots.

