Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie

The chocolate chip cookie pie was the first of many recipes I’ve used from Ken Haedrich‘s Pie book. I had a conversation with a friend of mine once where I said, lovingly hugging Pie to my person, “This is my bible.”
He replied, “And you are my god.”
His reverence is in part due to recipes like this one. Since then I’ve made quite a few of Haedrich’s recipes, though I haven’t gone so far as to make it my goal to make every single one. I have, however, tried enough to refer to it as my religious text of choice, later portmanteauing “pie bible” into “Pieble”.

It’s tempting to start this paragraph off saying, “The great thing about this pie is…” but I don’t know how to end the sentence. The fact that it combines two wonderful, magical desserts into one? How simple it is to make? How it’s delicious served chewy and cold or gooey and warm? How easy it is to ship it to Finland and have it still be delicious upon arrival (yes, I have done this)? Like choosing between my children Clarice and Dr. Lecter, my older and younger daughter respectively, I simply can’t pick one reason as the best. It is the very pie I gave my fiancé on our first date as I mentioned in my first post, if this is proof of how much I like this pie.

The recipe I’m including here is adapted from the Pieble. Please go buy the book if you’d like the original text, which refrains from insulting you if you use nuts with this recipe.

1 pie pastry (store-bought, foolproof, whatever. I don’t care)
1/2 cup (1 stick/~125 g) unsalted/sweet cream butter, softened
1 cup (220 g) firmly packed light brown sugar
1/2 cup (100 g) granulated sugar
3 large (large) eggs, at room temperature
1 teaspoon (~5 mL) vanilla extract
1/2 cup (45 g) cake flour, sifted
1/4 teaspoon (1.4225 g) salt
1/4 cup (59.25 mL) whole milk or light cream
1 cup (200 g) semisweet chocolate chips
1/2 cup (64 g) coarsely chopped walnuts (if you’re the kind of terrible person who thinks nuts belong in cookies)

1. Preheat the oven to 350F/177C.
2. If you’re like me, you’ve forgotten to soften the butter. Put your still-cold butter in a Ziploc-type bag and either beat the crap out of it with your rolling pin, or seal the bag and submerge it in hot water for several minutes.  Some of the butter will melt and make a bit of a mess, but you won’t have to wait long for it to soften.
3. If you’re like me, you’ve also forgotten to leave your eggs out to warm up to room temperature. Submerge the eggs in warm water for 10-15 minutes. Getting them to room temperature allows the whites and yolks to blend together more easily, which incorporates them into the other ingredients more easily, which means more air and therefore more fluffiness.
4. Roll the pastry out per Part II of the primer. Put the dough you’ve rolled out into a pie plate in the freezer until it’s time to use it.
5. In a large bowl (or your Kitchenaid bowl, whichever), cream the now-softened butter on medium. If you don’t have an electric mixer, whisk with great vigor and make a note to add one to your wishlist. Add the brown sugar and the granulated sugar. Then add the now-warm eggs one at a time, mixing well between additions. Beat in the vanilla and then the flour and salt.
6. Add the milk. This step will make the batter look kind of gross; sort of sandy yet blobby. Counterintuitively, this is completely normal.
7. Add the walnuts if you’re using them. Intuitively, this is not normal.
8. Add the chocolate chips.  Pull the pie crust out of the freezer and pour the filling into it, smoothing the top with a spoon or rubber scraper.
9. Bake for ~1 hour in the center oven rack until the center is set. If not convecting, rotate the pie halfway through so that what was the back of the pie is now the front of the pie. The top will be a dark golden brown (possibly a little crusty on top) and the pie shouldn’t jiggle in waves when you nudge the plate a little.
10. Cool the pie on a wire rack.

Hooray! Now you have a chocolate chip cookie pie for shipping to Finland or ensnaring a British man!

7 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie

    • You are most welcome! I’m impressed with the goal and the progress 🙂 It’s nice to find other people who believe it’s Not Just Pie. Good luck with the remaining pies!

      Like

  1. Pingback: 10 Things I Love About My Country #2: Inventors & Inventions | O Pie-oneers!

Leave a reply. No really, leave one. Leave lots.

